How to make an automatic chicken waterer

You will need,

  • a 5-gallon bucket
  • a toilet cistern filler float thingy
  • a method of connecting this to your preferred plumbing system, in my case pex
  • and if you want to get fancy, some screen mesh, a length of guttering and a short piece of hose

I got fancy, substituting another bucket for the guttering but have since reverted as it was an added complication that wasn’t fulfilling it’s purpose.

Drill a hole in the bottom of your bucket. I did mine quite close to the side, which probably wasn’t necessary. Insert your toilet apparatus, bought for $15 from central supplies as I couldn’t find the one I had been tripping over for the whole year since we removed the old broken toilet from our house.

Next affix the overly complicated arrangement to connect your float valve thingy your plumbing, then attach it to your plumbing. You can do this is any way – I prefer pex because I’ve already invested in the tools and I’m gonna make sure I damn well use them.

Um, you could just leave it like this but I want to run the system the length of the coop, so the chicks get water too, plus I have ducks that like to drink mud or something so my plan was to drill a hole in the side of the main bucket, cover the main bucket in mesh to keep stuff out and dribble an overflow hose through the hole into the piece of gutter that runs along the length of the coop. I didn’t have the guttering though so just used another bucket.

Slightly sub-optimal  but it does the trick. You’ll have to tinker with the adjustable bits so it fills just right and doesn’t overflow but, well, there you go.

 

 

One response to “How to make an automatic chicken waterer

  1. this is genius. i have been trying to figure out how to incorporate a toilet float system into a waterer. thank u for the idea.

Leave a Reply

