How to make an automatic pig waterer

This is embarrassingly simple. I wasn’t even going to blog about it but thought that there might be someone, somewhere getting way too complicated, or still hauling buckets every day.

So, I bought a pig watering nipple from the co-op for $4.30. They sold another one for $20 but the girl said this one was better. Go figure eh? I bought a brass connector and used some ptfe tape to marry the two, drilling a hole in the wall and fixing it all through. I then pex-crimped into into my plumbing, sauntered around to where my sow was , pressed the nipple to get a jet of water and watched as she first tried chewing it then figured out that all she had to do was bite it and slurp.

Et voila, a happy pig.

Leave a Reply

